aireona93
I had to put down my best friend yesterday. It was the hardest decision that I have ever made, and I never imagined that I could feel this broken because of her passing. Seems like alot of people find it odd when we animal lovers grieve for the loss of our animal companions so profoundly, but I feel like people are more understanding if it is a dog or cat that was lost. Hopefully, you guys will be understanding regardless, and I think you will.

My best friend was a little lovebird. I got her in fourth grade, and I am a PhD student now. She had been in my life longer than anyone but my mother, father and brother, and really, she was with me more than them. When I moved away from home for college, she was there. All my time working at home on my research, she was there. She got me through some really difficult times in my life, and now, even though I know she is gone, my subconscious keeps thinking that she is there.

When I first got her, little Beedea (BEE-dee) was not hand tamed, and as many lovebird enthusiasts know, this meant that she was very aggressive. I also knew nothing about birds, although I have always loved animals. When I got Beedea, however, I fell in love with birds, and I started reading all kinds of bird books and magazines in order to learn how to care for her better and maybe try to show her that I was a friend.

Using treats and as much patience as an elementary school kid has, I did manage to tame her a little bit. She would happily perch on my hand as long as it was covered by a little towel, and being unable to take her biting, I was happy with this. Even though I couldn't cuddle or hold Beedea the way people with more tamed lovebirds could, I let her out to play on her cage, in safe places of my room, and she especially loved when I would run the sink for her to take a bath in.