DogMom86
So, I arrived at work feeling horrible, actually last night about midnight I felt horrible and didn't realize why until I looked at the date, today is the 30th. Mija was euthanized on Dec 30th and I subconsciously knew this. I nearly cried today, but forced myself not to (I'm a teacher so I can't have a break down) telling myself to cry at lunch. I have a presentation today in front of co-workers and here it is lunchtime and I am having a panic attack like I haven't in ages.

I knew Mija was sick, she had kidney disease and probably some dementia. Was she older than 16 years old? Maybe I adopted her from a shelter and she was around five maybe six so it's possible. I thought we could fight the CKD, but three months on she got skinner, and the last three days she didn't eat, move, or go to the potty. Anyway, this is so hard and the grief is as fresh as when she passed. How can I be okay and all of a sudden it hits me like a freight train? Is it going to be this way on the 3rd of Feb which will be when London had to be euthanized on Jan 3rd? 

Am I strong enough to handle this? I feel so alone right now.
Mija, Chihuahua: 2004-2019
16 years
London, Golden Retriever: 2005-2020
15 years

Mom to Misty, Sango, Tami, Abby, Kawaii and Pepita the Chihuahua

Quote 0 0
chilover
I am so sorry to hear this. "Mija" - what a sweet name!

I really hope that you have supportive co-workers. You have endured so much already and need support.

Our stories are similar- I lost my little baby- a Chihuahua ''Daisy" to kidney failure aged 15yrs. She was a rescue and was also showing signs of dementia. We weren't 100% sure about the dementia thought because kidney failure can cause confusion.

I will be thinking of you on the 3rd as you remember you 'London'. My Daisy's anniversary is on the 2nd and when I light a candle & say a prayer for her I will say a prayer for you and your furbabies too. I know what you mean about feeling alone I do too and spend most of my time alone.