ceagle18
I just lost my pug, Sadie. When I was about 9 years old, my parents divorced and for some reason around the same time I started really really wanting a pug. Sadie was that reason. We found her through the National Mill Dog Rescue, and it was love at first sight, for both of us. We went to meet her at her foster moms home, and through the chaos of 4 great danes greeting us, Sadie ran straight to me and crawled in my lap. We were inseparable after that.

I graduated high school at 17 and left home, and maybe saw Sadie once a year. 3 years ago, my mother moved to Florida and so did Sadie. Before we were allowed to bring her home, the rescue paid for a soft pallet reduction surgery, to help prevent Sadie's heart from further enlargement. Last november, Sadies best friend Sandy died, and she mourned through constant howling for weeks, and began to get sick. 

I just visited Florida for 10 days. Sadie had been experiencing seizure like things, where she would pant very heavily, and collapse. That happened twice during my visit. She also turned almost entirely blue and I gave her a few chest compressions and she returned to normal, but I knew her end was coming, because she was nearly 16 years old. 

I held her and cried and told her not to be afraid, that she would be with Sandy soon and be able to run and jump and play like she used to, and that I love her forever. I told her it's okay, go when you are ready.

She gave me the greatest gift, and held on through my entire visit. I left saturday morning, Sadie passed saturday night. I can't help but hate myself for not staying longer, for not being with her as she took her final breaths, and for leaving her again. I wish I couldve stayed, and I wish she didn't have to die alone.