TD78
Hello everyone.  I am having a very, very difficult time with this!  I have been feeding a Feral Cat for a few months .... he just showed up one day ... sitting on my deck looking in at me.  I felt bad because he was skinny ... so I started setting food outside for him.  At that time, I did not know if he was male of female ... but eventually I was able to see that he was definitely male who was not neutered. 

At first, he used to come every few days for food ... and then I would not see him for a few days to a week at a time.  Then, about 2 months ago ... he started coming more often and he just started staying under my deck outside.  I started feeding him twice a day at that point ... trying to get him to gain some weight.

Then, about 3 weeks ago ... I noticed his one eye was blood red ... so I looked around and found a Clinic that I could take him to.  I contacted them, they told me what to do.  So, I went out and bought a trap.  They told me to just start sitting the trap outside a few days before his appointment, so that he could start getting used to the trap.  They told me to NOT put food in the trap until the day before his appointment, which was: October 24th.

Well, I set the trap out on October 21st, and he went into it that day, with no food even being put into it yet.  I think he was trying to stay warm ... because it has gotten cold here ... and I had a blanket wrapped around the trap just in case he would go into it at night, I didn't want him to get cold.

So, because he had gone into the trap a few days early.. I contacted the clinic and they were full, so could not take him early.  She told me I could go buy a dog crate, and transfer him into that.  So, that is what I did.  I bought a medium sized dog crate ... put in a nice fluffy blanket ... and a small cat litter box.  Transferring him into the crate took a few hours, because he was feral and could not be handled.