Mysweetsimba
I would like to share with you my last 24 hours.
I got my Simba's ashes on Saturday. A part of me was so relieved to 'have him with me' even though it was in the saddest sense. This relief was like golden necture, something to enjoy. I felt it in my heart though I might not be so lucky the next day.
That wasn't true. It was Monday that I started to shut down. .
It was like I realised the final chapter had almost closed. He was no longer, not only in spirit, but now also in body. I felt like I was lying to myself walking around the house, keeping his beds, his food bowl, litter box. I am practicing the Buddhist belief of keeping your pets things around for 49 days. I am sticking to this. But the feelings I have towards them is mixed and constantly changing.
It was a day of anguish and fear, whilst trying to look ok at work. I had such anguish and Simba just being gone. Then the worst thoughts of what I could have done better, and his final moments. Sicking.
Along with this, I got a huge and debilitating fear inside of me-acutely aware I was going to lose everyone I love and care about. All of them. How am I going to cope? I was so scared I spent every moment with my other half.
During the night a strange through came through. I am drilling through self help videos like nobodies business, and maybe something stuck. Simba is not here anymore. The crappy things I remember are non existing. Except through me. It is ok that he is not here anymore. I was always going to lose him. Unless he outlived me or us, and he would have been pushed from pillar to post, maybe finding a home, probably not because he was so old. And that would mean he must suffer my death.