Apollo_the_great
We lost our dog Sunday after a struggle with seizures. If anyone could help me with my thoughts etc concerning seizures please do. I want to post a picture
William
Quote 0 0
ehloar

Hi William,

Our Serena was diagnosed with epilepsy in early 2014. I don't know much about the specifics, and I am by no means a veterinary expert; however, I know that our veterinarian told us that it was less worrisome for her to develop epilepsy, due to the fact that she had mild seizure-like episodes once in a blue moon throughout her life (maybe 3 times or so, prior to her diagnosis, usually years apart). Her seizures seemed to be brought on by extremely exciting or stressful situations (for her, at least) such as trips to the groomer, lots of company for her to visit with, etc. She was prescribed Phenobarbital, which kept her seizures under control - she only had one seizure "through" the medication, which was near the end of her life. I should note, however, it was a month or so after her diagnosis that we noticed a change in her bladder routine, which ended up being bladder cancer. Towards the end, she had uncontrollable shakes and had problems with one of her legs - to sum up, I am not 100% sure if the cancer had affected her spine or brain in some way, as well, which played a factor in the seizures/body movement.

Hopefully, this helps you somewhat. If you have any other questions please feel free to reach out to me, as I am sure I have forgotten some of the details. Praying that you find peace in these difficult days.

Elizabeth

Sidenote: to post a picture, when you are typing text in, there is a little button that has a picture of a tree (by the movie film and link icons), and by clicking on that you should be able to post pictures :) Hope this helps!

[fVv4TwH] 
Itty Bitty "Fat Cat" 
<3 1998 - 9.25.13
[OlggnSk] 
Serena <3 4.13.02 - 1.13.15

You can visit Serena's Rainbow Residency here
Quote 0 0
Apollo_the_great