snrein1016
Hi all. I have a question I'd like some feedback on. I lost my beloved James a few weeks ago and my other male cat has not been the same since. This really surprises me because they were not well bonded. As a matter of fact, James hated Ryan. They never spent time together or cuddled together. But ever since James has been gone, Ryan has been crying a lot and getting irritated when I try to pet him. It sounds like grief to me, but they didn't like each other, so I'm a bit confused. Is this type of grief common for cats who didn't like each other? Ryan doesn't like change so perhaps it's just anxiety about the change in our household? Thoughts are appreciated. Blessings to all.
Quote 0 0
Lynn_E
I'm not an expert but definitely sounds like he's grieving. I lost my little boy Peter just a little over 2 weeks now. Still grieving here. I have Olivia and her and Peter were not too close either. They sometimes wrestled each other and instigate each other. A lot of the time Olivia didn't want to be where Peter was because he was the dominant cat.  But when Peter passed, she became extra needy and clingy. It broke my heart. I was grieving but I had to help her with her loss as well. She was meowing a lot and would look for Peter. I got his carrier out and she smelled his scent and was all excited; thought he was in his carrier :(  She was poking for him to come out of the carrier. I think Ryan has a sense of loss; even though they didn't get on, he was used to having him around.  Even though they didn't cuddle, they were still brothers, and he senses that he's gone and I'm sure he misses him now.  So sorry for your loss about James. I hope this helps. 
Lynn, Peter’s mom 
Quote 0 0
snrein1016
Thanks Lynn. That is helpful. I appreciate you sharing that because I've been quite confused. I'm so sorry for your loss too. My heart is just totally broken, as I'm sure yours is.
Quote 0 0
Jan_H