LMHowe56
Arthur was a wandering male cat. I had been feeding him for almost 4 years and he sometimes stayed the night and he was staying more often but still liked his freedom. My own cat Toffee had slowly got used to him and he had wormed his way into my heart. On Christmas day he limped into my house after been missing for almost 3 weeks. It been Christmas day I contacted RSPCA for advice. Apart from injury he was eating well and alert. I took him to my local vet on Wednesday, poor little man had a broken back leg. He was sent to my vets hospital until today when I took him to PDSA for his leg to be amputated. I left him at vets and came home to wait for phone call to go collect him, I had left him on examination table cleaning himself . I had just got home when PDSA rang Arthur had also got a shattered pelvis. Vet explained that it would be kinder to put him to sleep. I agreed to let them do this and I was heart broken for him. I do not understand how my vet missed such a serious injury. If I had known then I would have been at his side on Wednesday comforting him has he passed but today I was not. His last few days must have been very painful. R.I. P Arthur. Sorry I let you down
Quote 0 0
mpaull
I just lost my Auggie yesterday afternoon.  He was a ten year old short haired doxie.  He was everything to me.  I put him down because I promised him he wouldn't ever have to suffer but, the truth is, he did suffer for a month until I felt he had every chance of improving the quality of his life.  I guess I am trying to say your words, "Sorry I let you down" are heartfelt.  Arthur sounds like he had such a great life with your ability to allow him to be free and then to be able to find care on his terms.  You are not a vet and there are things completely out of your control.  Please be gentle with yourself and know there are truly good souls in the world, like yourself.  So sorry for your loss.  Hugs to you and Toffee.
Auggie's Mom
Quote 0 0
gizmomybaby