Oscarmeyer
As a nurse I am constantly aware of how fragile life is. A couple of days ago, I was reminded personally. Our beloved 8 yr old Oscar mini dauschund died unexpectedly after hurting his back three days earlier. I know in my heart we did everything we could to have tried to prevent this, but still it haunts me. I was supposed to be his protector. I feel guilt that maybe I should have tried surgery though they said he didn't have good odds. I'm around death and dying everyday. I know death and loss are a part of life so I'm not sure why it devastates me like it does. Everyone deals with death differently and we all experience loss, but all I know is there's a huge hole in my heart now and I feel it day and night. I know it will take time and strength before things feel better. My wife tells me I need to stop torturing myself and think of all the wonderful things that made him Oscar. But for now I mourn the loss of a friend and I need to let my heart mend. Some might say he was "just a dog" but I've lost a constant friend of eight years and someone I loved and made us laugh. He knew my ups and downs and brought richness to our days. Our life will be less without him. His sister just seems so sad...she just walks around like a ship without a compass. No longer will I be greeted by Oscar and his wagging tail and loving eyes...he was a friend with gentle loving ways. Oscar was a friend I won't forget. Oscar will live always in my heart, my sweet and loving pet. We miss you SOOOOO MUCH
OSCAR 2008-2016
Quote 0 0
Baileysbro
So sorry about your loss.

Tell us more about Oscar. 

We're all going through this.  I just lost my beloved Bailey on Tuesday and its been so hard.   Everyone here is having a hard time and missing their beloved.
Bailey
October 31, 2002 - April 19, 2016 10:25 P.M.
My best friend, my companion, my love

[e8de4bc1-77ae-4da2-9834-109b68b6cda8]

[Paws-for-the-News-Grieving-the-loss-of-a-pet] 
Quote 0 0
Oscarmeyer