nxt_jen
Hello, This is my first time using this forum, but I need a little support. I had two littermates - black kitties named Bodi and Xeno - for 14 years. A little over a month ago, we had to say goodbye to Xeno, my heart-cat. He battled cancer for 8 months before dying. Since then, Bodi has gone QUICKLY and steadily downhill. He won't eat or drink on his own, and he's recently gone blind. We've already taken him to the vet and even had him in emergency vet overnight almost two weeks ago - turns out he has liver failure - but then we took him home. We've been giving him water via a dropper, and we had been force-feeding him baby food until yesterday. We were giving him an appetite stimulant, but that seemed to make him pretty uncomfortable. We think he is wanting to go ahead and die, but my heart is completely broken.

Also, I'm struggling with the decision of when to euthanize. He doesn't seem to have any quality of life, but he also doesn't seem to be in pain, but it's hard to tell with cats. He just lies on the couch all day. The last couple of days he seems to feel a little worse - he's nauseated and very weak. He can't get to his litter box on his own, but he isn't going to the bathroom much. In fact, he hasn't pooped in a week and a half, and he just pees a small amount each day. He gets upset when my husband and I leave for very long - even just to another room - and we've been lucky that my husband has been off of work for a couple of months and able to be there with him all day. But starting this coming Monday, he goes back to work, and I have to go out of town for work for 3 days. My husband works in the film industry, so he works 15-16 hour days far from home so he can't run home and check on him. I have a friend that can come check in on him if he's still alive, but I just don't know if we are making the right decision by letting him live out these last days/weeks, and I don't know how long it will take.