tdmurph
I lost my springer spaniel Murphy of 11 years on Memorial day.  He has been sick for about two months.  He got sick about 2 weeks after I had him in for his yearly, which was all good.   We took a picture of him on his last day alive with the kids, knowing he was coming to the end soon.  I am having a hard time thinking I should have done more.  We went to the vet a few times after his sickness but the medicine did not seem to help.  I have a hard time coming home after work because he would always be waiting on the deck to see me pull up in my truck to grab the mail.  I look out in the back yard hoping to see a quick glimpse of him knowing he is in a better place.  This is my first time ever posting to anything, I do not even do facebook (if I do not make sense).  He loved to go for rides and go hunting.  I am trying to remember the good times.  He would following me everywhere when I was home.  He was an awesome dog and my family says I should start with another dog, but it do not feel the same way, at least not yet.  It seems so hard to have the same love for a new dog without thinking of him, plus going through the training again.  Murphy had full reign of the house with a dog door so he could be outside or in.  I know he loved us to.
Quote 0 0
Moxie
I am so sorry to hear this and I understand when you say you are having a hard time thinking you should have done more. I lost my Golden yesterday and think the same thing. I should have done more. Have spent a lot of time beating myself up. I am doing the same things that you are. It was hard coming home today and not hearing that tail thumping when I came in or having him follow me from room to room. I only hope my feelings of not doing enough will lessen. It is so very painful right now. 
Quote 0 0
ebbsmom