ForAbby
Tomorrow will mark one week since I've had to say goodbye to my best friend Abby. She was a beautiful 9 year old yellow lab and I miss her terribly.

I have never written in a forum before. I rarely comment or post online in general outside of social media. However, I've been reading the posts on the forum for quite some time and they have always made me feel less alone, so in this time of immense grief, I thought I would give posting on here a try.

9 years ago, I graduated from college and moved back into my parents home. During that summer, our family dog Kayle, who was a black lab, was diagnosed with cancer and passed away. After a few heartbreaking months, we made the decision to get another dog. That dog was Abby, and from the moment we had her she was incredible. At 10 weeks old, she didn't cry the first night we had her like our previous puppies had. She was somehow already housetrained. She loved being around us at all times and became my mother's constant companion. My mom took her everywhere...the bank, stores, anywhere she could. Abby became obsessed with car rides and sticking her head out of the sunroof (not the safest thing, but oh well). I lived at home for a few years, and I honestly think I put off moving into my own apartment for a while because I knew I would miss living with her.

After a few years, I moved into the city. I would bring her with me for sleepovers, but she honestly hated being there...she was used to my parent's large house and big backyard in the quiet suburbus. So, I would just make sure to visit often. A year ago, my husband and I moved to a nearby suburb, and we began taking Abby for weekend sleepovers as much as we could. My husband also had a black lab that he got in college, so we became a happy little weekend family of 4.