Harleys_mom
Last month on November 6th, I had to put my 8 month old kitten Harley down.
I am a college student living on my own. The farther I get into my major, the more I’m away from home and I felt that my 2yo cat Gingerbread could use some company. In late July I went into Petsmart to get something for Ging, not planning to adopt at any particular time. Right after I walked in, two women from a shelter in another part of the state brought in carts and carts of cats that they needed to find homes for. My boyfriend and I decided to go say hi to them. He was pushing me to adopt one cat, but all of the sudden Harley caught my eye. I picked him up and he just stared up at me and the woman from the shelter said,”I think you’ve found the one,” and that was that. Everything went well at first, I took him to the vet for a first checkup (the shelter had already given him shots and neutered him). He had tapeworms, no biggie- so I treated that with meds. A few weeks later he started sneezing. I took him in again, and thinking it was a cold, treated him with more meds. But the sneezing turned into sneezing up blood and coughing spells. I took him back to the vet where we continued treating symptoms. The symptoms started to go away but his lethargy didn’t. I figured he was still recovering and brushed it off. Then I noticed his breathing seemed to be labored. I still thought this was no big deal and that he was getting over his symptoms. It kept progressing and I got worried. I had my mom take him to the vet while I was taking an exam. She called me saying it went well and that he probably just had asthma which was treatable but that the doctor was going to do a chest x ray just to be sure. A little while later I got the worst phone call of my life. Harley had fluid that filled almost his entire abdominal cavity, virtually drowning him from the inside. I rushed across town and the vet told me there was an 80% chance that this was Feline Infectious Peritonitis, which is almost