StryderMyLove
I found so much comfort last night after finding this forum, that I thought I would share my story. I got my rescue baby, when he was 4 months old, and he was a member of my family for almost 12 years. Stryder Barrett I named him, and instantly he was my heart and soul, I LOVED him immediately. He was my first dog that I had as an adult as I got him when I was 22 and felt like we almost grew up together. It was just me and him for awhile and he was there when I graduated college, through my engagement and marriage, and also the births of my 2 sons, not to mention several moves...he was by my side through it all. Never was my beloved friend not near when I needed, whether it be through tough times or the happiest of days. Stryder was a beautiful boy and truly had the soul of an angel, so gentle and tender, he was the epitome of love. My sweetheart had a seizure on April 29th shortly after his 12th birthday. It scared me!! He never had one before and I was beside myself. I took him to the vet twice in the following week for a neurological test and blood work. All came back normal, and I was sent home with ear drops for an infection and flea medication. I was told to notify the vet of any further seizures in the future, but was told it may have been a one time deal. But in my heart, I knew at 12 years old, it couldn't be good. For the following few weeks, Stryder was his typical loving self, wagging away, and wanting to eat whatever he could😋 I was so happy to see him seeming okay. Then came May 23rd. After 3 1/2 weeks seizure free, he had another seizure and I was by his side and talked him through as I understood what it was this time and tried my best to stay calm. I told my husband and he was on watch as I had a meeting for my son that evening. I wish I wouldn't have went as I got a text from my husband that my dear Stryder had another seizure. I rushed home as soon as I got the message. I was hoping that would be it as I knew I didn't want him to con