lotusbunny

This is my first time posting in this community, and it was recommended that I should find a support group, so here I go. Sorry if it’s a long one.
This past January, I lost my 1 year old boy Luxor (who I called Piggy) to pneumonia. His entire death was a series of traumatic events that still haunt me to this day, nearly 5 months later.

He was a Golden doodle I rescued along with his sister at 6 months old from an Amish puppy mill in Ohio. Unbeknownst to myself and my family, but the entire time we had Piggy, he had undiagnosed Mega esophagus, a condition that is a result of bad breeding. It causes dogs to vomit up their own food and many times aspirate. Piggy aspirated at some point and the food taken into his lungs developed into walking pneumonia: a pneumonia that only shows itself when it’s too late.

Along with all this chaos, he had developed a autoimmune disease that caused his white blood cells to be attacked in his jaw area, preventing him to open his mouth. He was put on autoimmune suppressants, so he had no fighting chance to even fend off the pneumonia. 

I was angry for a long time. Angry at religion, and angry at his vet and internal medicine vet for not catching the megaesophagus sooner, as it was becoming more and more prevalent in the doodle community. And then I was angry at myself for not noticing something was wrong sooner. 

I pour over and over in my mind every single step leading to the death, thinking what I could have done different, or if I had only caught it just one day before, or if only I had just taken him sooner, maybe he would still be here.

I’ve owned dogs before, so the concept of losing a pet wasn’t foreign to me. Four months after my first dog passed away, Lux and his sister Lulu bounded into my life. And then a year and two months after owning him and his sister, he was gone. 
However, his death and my current grief is nothing like I ever experienced with my previous pets.