Andrealeec
I lost my sweet boy on Wednesday, Valentine’s Day.
My Elwood was only 11 years old. He was a miniature long haired dachshund. He began having some neck problems in October and needed surgery for a herniated disc. He did so great after surgery! And had been doing well up until February 4th. He began to show symptoms of a herniated disc in his back this time, and quickly became paralyzed. We rushed him in to the specialty emergency hospital where he was admitted and scheduled for an MRI for the next morning. The dr called me right before the MRI and said he had lost deep pain sensation in his right leg but they were working quickly. He then called me right after the MRI and said he would need surgery to remove the offending disc (and a few other chronic ones). He called after the surgery, said it went well and he was recovering well. Since I am a vet tech at a general practice, he allowed me to take him home 3 days later (Thursday). He seemed out of it, but had a fentanyl patch on so I assumed it was that. Over the weekend he seemed pretty painful, he would just sit up and pant (he still didn’t have use of his hind legs but did have deep pain sensation in both legs) and when I checked his temp it was starting to creep up. On Sunday it was 103.4 so I decided we needed to go back to the Emergency vet. The neurologist wasn’t on but was in touch with the intern and when the intern examined him, he didn’t have deep pain or reflexes in either hind limb. I knew something bad was wrong but I would have to wait until the next morning for the neurologist to look at him.