RudyAndDubs
I can't believe I'm here at this forum again, just over a year from my first visit. I wrote in August of 2018 about my father's companion being struck by a car, and now I'm here to write about my own. I don't know why its helpful to catalogue my thoughts here, but it is. If you get through my whole story, thank you for your time, as this will be considerably long.

In the very early hours of the morning on Wednesday, I had to put my best friend, my first pet, and who was arguably my soulmate to sleep.

Rudy was 10 years old and I knew him from the day he was born. Rudy was born with a malformation of his front right leg and only walked on 3. While this had no issue in his day to day life, I'm an animal professional I knew I somewhere in the back of my head;

His heart.
His heart works harder than other cats'.
His fragile heart, so small and full of love that pushed a little harder than others.

He won't make it as long as other cats.

Rudy spent all of his 10 years and 5 months very healthy and without issue except for a small bout of upper respiratory infection contracted from one of his brothers. Rudy lived through the death of 2 of his siblings, and the comings and goings of 4 foster dogs and 10 foster cats. Rudy never knew a bad day, or a day of suffering. Even at one escape event he simply walked out onto the steps and bathed in the sun.

I have already lost 2 pets to sudden, unexpected, untreatable deaths at an age too young. I have been down this road before, wondering why so many have been taken this way. I've screamed and I've cried and I've sobbed, I have tried to bargain with the forces of the universe to give me my cherished friends back, but never before this have I had to make the decision, then and there, to say goodbye.