tamtam34037
Hi!  I've never done this before but I'm so sad, heartbroken and devastated.  My husband and I adopted our medium hair buff colored domestic cat from the pound 4 yrs ago.  He's been our constant buddy and we love him.  He'd not been eating recently so we took to vet yesterday and after x-rays, found he had an obstruction in his colon.  He had swallowed a string from a blanket.  they were to do surgery today but after blood work, they found he had feline leukemia and was anemia.  he wouldn't have been able to survive the surgery.  We had to make the tough decision to say goodbye.  Oh my...that was the hardest thing I've ever had to do (even harder than my diagnosis of breast cancer) Now, everything reminds me of him at home.  I can't quit crying.  How do people survive this?  I've had dogs when I was growing up but I think, as I'm aging, I see that life is fleeting.  My husband and I weren't able to have kids so Paolo was our little boy.  will the pain ease?

Quote 0 0
Catawampus
Hi tamtam,

I'm so very sorry for your loss. It's utterly heartbreaking. I completely understand the grief and pain you're feeling. I wish I could say it gets easier quickly but for me the grief and doubt and guilt lingers. I have good days and bad. On the bad days the tears won't stop.

Our little furry companions are just so fragile. But their devotion to us is unshakeable. Paolo was clearly loved and given an amazing life as a rescue. I know it's nearly impossible right now but try to focus on the life and love you gave him. 

The pain will lessen and the grief will fade. But it will take time. The grief you're feeling probably seems insurmountable. But it is equal in intensity to the love. It will get better even though it doesn't seem that way now. The pain will lessen in time. But let yourself cry and grieve and hurt. Miss him with the same depth that you loved him.