Rain

Hi,

My Name is DesChene Brochtrup, DVM (aka DC).

And yes I am a veterinarian, small animal and emergency medicine. I have counseled hundreds of clients throughout their decision when and if to euthanize and the grief of an ill or past pet. But now I find all my knowledge fails me. I need someone else's opinion. I have talked to all my colleges and friends, and they all comfort me and say we did the right, blah blah, blah. But I don't know if they are right, or just saying what they think I need to hear. I need someone who will tell me his or her honest opinion. I feel that even if I made the wrong decision, just knowing that, I will be able to move on, at least better then I am now.

Here is the story:

Pollux was the older of our two boys (both mostly labs from the humane society) we got him first, when he was about 5 months old, and then his brother Castor (about 12 weeks old) about a month later. Pollux was a very type A personality; we think he had some heeler in him. Castor is much more type B, lab like.