Fiona_W
Hello my fellows in grief— I'm Fi ("fee"). I'm a 63-year-old retired physician. I am a writer (nonfiction) and an artist (mostly collage & mail art). I have been married for nearly 40 years to a ponytailed botanist named Bob. Bob and I chose not to have human children, but instead to live with cats. We are not the kind of cat people who don't like dogs, though: we love all sorts of fur & feathered & scaly people. We have had four pairs of cats, each pair a brother & sister (littermates). The first three pairs were oriental shorthairs. Our 4th pair, currently living with us, are oriental longhairs.

The reason why I sought out this forum is that I am struggling with deep grief over the deaths of our third pair of cats, Oscar and Nénu ("nay-noo"). We got Oscar and Nénu from our breeder in August of 2014. Oscar was named for one of my literary heroes, Oscar Wilde. Nénu is short for Nénuphar, the French word for lotus or water lily. They were beautiful orange cats: Oscar was a tabby whose markings were a mixture of spots and stripes—splotches, really. He was the most beautiful cat we have ever had—long, tall, sleek, with a head that was exquisitely shaped. Nénu was an orange "ticked" tabby, the kind of tabby who has tabby markings (stripes) on face and legs and tail, but whose body is a solid color—light-colored underfur and darker "ticked" hairs.

Let me get quickly to the point. Oscar got sick in October of 2017, and died when his heart suddenly stopped, when he was in an animal hospital after minor surgery. We don't know why that happened. He died on October 26. When I called our breeder to tell her Oscar had died, she said, "You are in luck! I have a robust, healthy pair of four-month-old oriental longhair kittens, ready to go to a home. Since Oscar and Nénu were in poor health [it's a long story] when you bought them from me, and I have always felt guilty about that, I will give them to you for free."