For_Bubby
I just lost my dear little girl Bubble (Bubby to those who loved her), a Maine Coon I've had for over a decade. She died suddenly last night at the ER at midnight of respiratory failure brought on by extremely aggressive cancer (that hadn't even been present not a year ago). Nobody, including my regular vet, knew she had it. I only knew when the ER vet x-rayed her when I brought her in after she started showing clears signs of extreme distress. She died just moments after the x-rays, not seconds after they had put her on oxygen to try to help her.

I'm a disabled veteran who spends most of his time alone when my roommate isn't around and Bubby was my constant companion. She was the bright light that came with me from a long but failed marriage and painful divorce. She was there with me through some of my darkest hours and my own terrible illness, always by my side purring and demonstrating her unconditional love for me. She grew ill last year of a different illness, but with time, work, and money I was able to rehabilitate her and give her one more mostly healthy, happy year with me.

Now she is gone and my heart is all but hollowed out. The room we shared feels so empty and lifeless now without her.

She was the most gentle, affectionate, intelligent, loyal, well-behaved cat I've ever known, and my life is diminished without her. I'm in the first 24 hours without her and my pain and sorrow are almost more than I can endure.

So I write this post here to memorialize my sweet baby as I sit here crying, surrounded by reminders of her life and the love she brought into mine.

I'll never forget her, and my love for her will be evergreen. I'd give anything to hold my fat, furry little darling again.

bubby1.jpg 

bubby2.jpg 

I miss her so much. I didn't expect to lose her last night. It was so sudden, and my heart is broken.

It's all the worse because she died just moments before I could say goodbye to her. I so wish I could have held her and said goodbye.