ClaireT

Lost my best friend max Thursday night.  He played in the park. He had dinner.  He died.  13 yr old puppy.  My son, his gf and I think we are going crazy. I lost my parents. I did not feel this. I’ve never felt this.  My heart is in pieces.  How is this ok??  I cry. And cry. Then laugh, then try and go about my day and I cry. I feel like I don’t know how to live in this world without him. I’m a therapist. Lol. And I’m so lost.  The nice man came to get him.  I literally got sick. Is this normal?? It better end because I have a big life and responsibilities. I can’t just cry.  But I can’t stop. 

glad you are all out there.  This sucks 

Quote 0 0
Buddy_Mama
Hi Claire: I’m so sorry about your Max, and I’m glad you’re here. This is a great place to vent feelings that don’t even seem to make sense, feelings that others in our lives may not know how to react to, or may not want to hear at all - yet when we’re trying to cope with profound grief, what we need most is someone to listen, understand, support, and not judge.

Believe me, you’re not alone in what you’re feeling or doing. You, your son and his girlfriend are not crazy; what you’re describing are very normal feelings and reactions to shock and grief. I lost my Buddy in early March, and I too felt debilitating shock, disbelief, disconnect, deep deep sorrow, and guilt over many things (including that I felt worse, cried more, etc. than when I lost my dad a year and a half ago). Lost. And much more.

I too got sick the night I lost Buddy, though my circumstances were a bit different. We brought him to the emergency vet hospital late on a Saturday night, and came home less than 2 hours later without him. When we got home, I was in a daze, then I hallucinated for what felt like hours, then got sick, then laid down and took a nap from physical and emotional exhaustion. It’s the body trying to cope and adapt, not knowing (yet) how to do it.