Britt1452
I've been browsing this site for a couple months but I've been too scared to post anything. I lost my baby boy Otto April 28th and I am having a hard time coping. He would have been 9 years old this month. I'm sorry if this is long, I just feel the need to write this.

It all happened the morning of April 27th. I woke up for work around 7 am like normal and go out to feed the dogs (I had 4 at the time). Normally they are all waiting for me in the kitchen because they know when mom wakes up it's time to eat. The only one waiting for me was Jace my mini dachshund. I knew in my gut something was wrong.

I have a dog door in my sliding glass door. I opened the blinds and I blacked out from there mostly. I remember bits and pieces of that morning. I looked outside and saw a black lump in the yard, and I knew it was Otto. My two other dogs (lab mixes) were outside near him. I remember screaming and running to him. He was barely breathing but still alive. My two dogs had savagely attacked him. I picked him up and one of them latched on to him immediately. I ran into the house, got a towel and rushed to the emergency vet. They were not open...Across the street was another vet so I ran in and just remember begging for help.

Otto was in really bad shape, it seemed like they had drug him through the dirt and just mauled him. He had bite marks everywhere and a huge open wound on his head. They took an x-ray of his neck and he had a hole in his trachea. The vet told me I had two options: take him to a University here that specializes in veterinary care and spend thousands of dollars to see if it was fixable (they had never seen anything like this) or wrap his neck and see if it healed on its own. I chose the latter.