MarleyMoo
I have been anticipating this day for 9 months, but I still can't believe this is real...my heart is completely shattered.

I had my cat Marley for 16 long, loving years, and in April of 2019 he was diagnosed with cancer.  The doctor said he had 2-3 weeks...but then he bounced back, and kept bouncing back and forth between being his old needy, lovable and snuggly self, to what seemed like him going down the path of knocking on death's door. 

It has been so draining, but I just couldn't let him go, I had to do everything I could before taking the next step. He's always by my side and I work from home, so we were attached at the hip.

But in this process of continuous anticipatory grief for months...I also became afraid of leaving home or traveling, fearing that I might return to the worst. I am relieved he's at rest, but I'm heart broken and I miss him so terribly. My entire adult life was spent with him -- the longest I was ever away from him was 4 days.

I developed a routine of giving him supplements, medication, making sure his food was the best possible diet for his condition, monitoring his urine and stool...and cleaning up vomit. He'd throw up and his energy would suddenly return, like he wasn't sick at all. His longest stretch was two months without throwing up, then it progressed to weekly, then multiple times a week at the very end.

It was exhausting...but I'd do it all again because I love him more than anything else in this world.

This last month, he became weak and started showing signs of the end. It broke my heart. His moments of energy and normalcy became fewer and far between.  He was still loving and happily purred when I pet him, but I had to start picking him up and carrying him with me, as well as presenting him with water/food multiple times a day in addition to his other routines.

The day he stopped eating, I knew it was time to make the call.  He'd always been so food motivated, it was heart-wrenching to see him refuse it.