anang
I want to send my love and thoughts to everyone on this amazing forum. This community is so welcoming and it is comforting to meet others who are travelling on this confusing and painful journey.

I'm a school teacher, and this past week was my first week back to work. It's only going on three weeks since I lost my Ana Ng. I love my job, but this past week was incredibly difficult. I found myself shutting myself in my office and sobbing. I work with special needs students, and I don't want to confuse or upset them, so I make sure not to cry around them. I try to think of funny movie lines to distract me, but sometimes my eyes just well up and I feel like I'm going to go off the deep end.

I believe in expressing ones feelings, but I can't be a constant emotional basket case at work. Any feedback or suggestions would be appreciated.

-Katie
K. Unger
Quote 0 0
Memories_of_Marmalade

My Dear Sweet Katie,

It makes such sense that you would be a devoted School Teacher of of Special Needs Student's, as loving and caring as you were to your beloved Ana Ng. Your great kindness, compassion, empathy and sweetness is evident in your posts and comments.

We all go through the same thing it appears. What I have done is try and suspend my emotions during business meetings. I keep telling myself "I will get back to my grief soon." "I will be able to return to thinking about my boy shortly. Hang on." It is difficult and at times I have to cut meetings short. All I can think of when others are chattering at me is "Don't you know I have lost my boy?" "Don't you know Marmalade is gone?" "Don't you know what has happened?"