Meg_manning
Hi all,
I am new to this website as I was looking online for tips about grieving the loss of a pet. I lost my first pet – my cat, Chewy, of 14 years this week. We did not realize he was outside overnight as he is always in the house overnight. Even if he goes out during the day it is just on the deck or in the yard so we know he is safe. It is our fault because we did not make sure that he was inside and an animal from the woods got him overnight. I feel even worse because we could have prevented it. Any tips for getting through this as it is my first time losing a pet? Chewy was the first animal I have ever owned. Thank you very much and my sympathies to all who are going through a loss of their pet.
Meg
Quote 0 0
Marie123
Chewy is just adorable! What a sad situation. It's hard no matter what. I know how you feel thinking you're the one to blame. But sometimes you just have an oversight. I still feel guilty about the day my Mom died. I didn't tell her I loved her or kiss her before going to work that day.
How about you write Chewy a love letter like I did for my girl Raven when I had to let her go? Tell him you love him, and anything you want to say to him, but didn't have the chance. Then read it out loud, maybe with family or friends if you like, and then place it in one of his favorite places to sit or sleep. It's not much but it helps. They hear us, I know that they do.
Again, I'm so sorry to hear about your sweet little guy. I hope that you can find some peace and comfort here 🐾
Quote 0 0
Meg_manning
Thank you so much, Marie. It helps to hear from others who understand and who have gone through it. I like your idea. Thank you again.
Quote 0 0
Ollies_Grieving_Mama