Juno
Hello everyone. I'm really glad I found this forum after my therapist and my partner both recommended I try looking for others who have been through similar experiences that I have been. I apologize that this will be long, and potentially graphic and upsetting to read and for that I am so sorry. But I don't know where else to turn.

In the start of May I lost my heart, my soul, and my entire world- Nellie. We adopted Nellie right after my birthday during my freshman year of highschool. She'd been with me for almost 12 wonderful years. I've struggled with horrible depression, anxiety, and dissociative episodes ever since I was a kid. College was very hard on me emotionally, but nevertheless I finished my degree 4 years ago and have felt more lost than ever before. Nellie gave me a sense of purpose. Even when I wanted everything to end, even when I wanted to give up, she was there, lending a paw. She was my walking buddy, my snuggle bug, my artistic muse when I was stumped and needed inspiration to draw. She was always so in tune with my emotions. If I was about to cry, it's like she just knew. She'd lay on my lap and lick my arms and face until I'd calm down or fall asleep.