heartsick
I am very sorry for all of your losses. I lost my furry baby three weeks ago today and I cannot eat or sleep. The not sleeping is beginning to get to me. I am divorced, but when I was married I buried my son. This loss is no different. My baby was my heart and soul and I loved him exactly like he was my son. To me he was my son and most days I forgot that I did not give birth to him. I love him so much. I know that almost 14 years is a long time and I am grateful he was not sick or in pain. We went to sleep and only one of us woke up an hour later. I just cannot function. I am a mess. I am a writer and I cannot write. I am working on a book and I can't bring myself to even look at it. I just don't care right now. I don't care about anything. I feel sick to my stomach all of the time.The first week I was kept busy with funeral plans. I had a graveside service and I used the same service I used when my son died. When I do manage to doze off for an hour or so I have violent and awful dreams- make that nightmares! I am barely managing to do anything. I rescued a pregnant dog right off the road a year ago and I still have six puppies here. If it were not for them I don't think I would even get out of bed. I love them BUT they do not make me feel better because they are not my missing child. I feel like I am going crazy though I know that I am grieving. I cry ALL of the time at the drop of a hat. I went to a support group but there were six people there and the group only met for an hour; not nearly enough time for all of us.

If anyone can tell me how to get through the night I would appreciate it. I sit up and cry until morning and then, completely exhausted I go and feed the puppies, and then pass out on my bed alone. I have not slept without my baby in nearly fourteen years. I haven't planned a meal without thinking about what he was permitted to eat either. I am such a wreck of a human being - just a complete mess of tears and exhaustion.

Thank you.