Forum

Author   Comment  
Mo_VHanover

Reply with quote  #1 
So I have 2 dogs. One is a 3 month old Mini Aussie male named Blue and the other is a 3 year old Aussie x Husky female named Nixie. I have noticed some things going on that are a bit strange to me and I'd appreciate some advice.

About Blue:
1) I have never had a male puppy before. Is humping normal at only 3 months? XD
2) I notice he itches a lot. I know some of this can be grooming, but he sometimes itches his eyes and whines, and he scratches at his collar a ton.
3) This is something that is strange, convenient, and funny. We've been working on crate training him. We got him a water dish that attaches to the side so he doesn't spill his water (which was an issue with Nixie). But we noticed that he's been using it as a urinal instead. That's an entirely self-taught behavior. Has anyone ever heard of this? I think it's weird and kind of funny.
4) He's extremely food aggressive. How do we help with this? Nixie loves him and likes to bring her food and treats to share with him, which is absolutely adorable. But like today when she goes to take her bone back, he gets very aggressive. She backs off because she doesn't want to be in trouble with me, but she easily takes him down when she wants to because he's so much smaller. She's never been the type to back off, so I'm sure she's conflicted (she's new to this big sister stuff!). We've also had instances at the vet when they take back the lid of peanut butter they give him and when other dogs are around eating. He was in the middle in size of his litter, not a runt. He's generally okay with petting while he's eating. He takes one individual pellet at a time.