HGregory
My soul mate kitty, Bittersweet, died on October 13th of this year and I'm nowhere near recovered from it. I foster cats for a local rescue and two days after my Bittersweet died I got a foster cat named Petey, a one-year old cat with severe behavioral problems but who was otherwise healthy as far as I knew. I've been a veterinary technician for seven years, worked in rescue for ten, including owning my own rescue for several years, a particular interest of mine is working with feral cats, and Petey has been one of my most challenging cats. She was poorly socialized in her previous home and is absolutely terrified of me, so when she first got here she disappeared. I thought I had gone crazy and there was never a cat to begin with. Eventually I found her behind the books on a bookcase. She stayed there for two weeks. When I decided she could handle having more than the one room and let her out of the library she went inside the recliner and stayed there for three days until I took her out. Once I put her in my bedroom and decided she could do whatever she wanted she started improving quickly. She would sit on the bed, let me pet her sometimes, she really started coming around.